Week4- Artist converstation- Samuel Jernigan

Exhibition Information

Artist: Samuel Jernigan

Exhibition: Weight of Whimsy and Ideals

Media: Ceramics

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: Samuel Jernigan’s Website :http://www.cargocollective.com/samueljernigan

Instagram: samueljenri

Samuel Jernigan is a graduate from California State University of Long Beach. He graduated from the school in 2015 from the college of Arts in Ceramics. Samuel is from northern California, around the bay area. He plans to attend UCLA for graduate school.His interests  was that he loves to read good comics. The other interests he has is to go on bike rides and binge watch cartoons. His ideas he wants to reach are alienation and contradictions. Samuel was making his art pieces, up to 16 hours a day, he was so occupied that he lived in his car for three years since he would berly be at his apartment. Besides art, Samuel loves reading and also watches alot of cartoons. Another interesting thing is that Samuel use to work at a farmers market in the produce section.

Samuel tries to reach a different emotion, he doesnt stick to one but a general emotion from everybody. He is trying to unfix the fix mindset of what people think when they look at his art or what they usually expect from art. The sculptures varied in sizes from large, medium, small and tiny. I asked about how fragile the sculptures were and he said they were very delicate. His inspiration came from old beat up toys. He felt upset seeing the old beat up toys so he decided to make sculptures in remembrance of the toys.  What was most intriguing about his work was that he wanted us to remember our childhood and wanted us to remember the good old times we had with our toys.

As I walked into this art gallery exhibit, all the large pieces were the focal point of the room. At first I thought it was amazing how tall these sculptures were being made from ceramics. These sculptures also made me go back to my childhood to remember the toys I used to play with. Especially the one with the rings as the head. This reminded me of the ring toss game with the rings being made of plastic. The cookie monster one intrigued me because I would watch Sesame Street when I was small.  Then when I started talking to the artist and it made me realize that there is more to his message then just what I thought. When everybody was looking at the art I heard comments of its so nice, colorful and fun, and sometimes I think like our childhood is all those things and now I can look at Samuel’s art and then think that everything doesnt have to be one way. I really find it amazing how he made the best out of living in a car an now is doing bigger and better things.I can compare to struggling and I would love to be in his postion after struggling.

Leave a Reply

